Date: 21 September 2018, Author: Tang See Kit, Source: CNA

Title: Singapore consumers can choose electricity provider from November

Brief: The Energy Market Authority (EMA) announced that wef 1 November 2018, the Open Electricity Market will be rolled out in phases to the rest of Singapore, i.e households and business accounts with postal codes beginning with (i) 58 to 78 in November 2018; (ii) 53 to 57, 79 to 80, 82 to 83 in January 2019; (iii) 34 to 52, and 81 in March 2019 and (iv) 01 to 33 in May 2019. Prior to each roll-out, will receive a notification package and information booklet. More than 30% of Jurong consumers have since switched to a retailer under a pilot programme launched on 1 April 2018. Diamond Electric, Red Dot Power, Sun Electric and Sunseap which opted out of the nationwide roll-out will still be honouring contracts signed.